Golden Anniversary Dinner & Prize Giving

Dorset Breeders celebrate Golden Year


Gary & Lorna Henderson 1st Prize Draw Winners

Competition Cups for Presentation
 Trevor & Sharon Knox Autumn Sale Supreme Champion Winners
ga4 Assoc. President Raymond Hill & Club Chairman Graham Cubitt

Presenting  Cup to Trevor & Sharon Knox

ga14Trevor & Sharon Knox ,Jayne McConnell & Angus Fleming 

enjoying a chat at the dinner

 Assoc. President Raymond Hill with Flock Competition Prizewinners
N. I. Club Chairman Graham Cubitt with section winners 

of the Flock Competition

 Prize Winners from the Premier Sale in July
Kyle Sloan presenting the Carnamrock cup to Colin & Louise Johnston 

for the Best Horned Exhibit at the Premier Sale

 Prize winners in the large Flock section of the Flock Competition
 Prize winners in the Small Flock Competition 

1st G. Henderson, 2nd A. McConnell, 3rd S. Mullan

 John McCullagh and his Daughter enjoying the evening

Prize winners in the Ewe Lamb section of the Flock Competition

 Prize winners in the Stock Ram section of the Flock Competition

Dorset breeders from all over Northern Ireland met at Ross Park Hotel last Friday evening for their annual dinner and presentation of awards. After enjoying an excellent meal, Club Chairman Graham Cubitt welcomed all members and friends and gave a brief outline of the Clubs 50 year history. He noted how far the club has progressed in terms of numbers and also in the quality of the sheep bred here in Northern Ireland , so much so that local breeders have enjoyed great successes recently at the Dorset May Fair in England .

President of the N.I Dorset Sheep Breeders Club, Mr George Robson, Doagh, then presented the awards for the 2009 season. The silverware on display was awarded for various achievements throughout the year, covering Balmoral show, Premiere Show and Sale ; Autumn Show and Sale and the Northern Ireland Flock Competition. Thomas Wright’s Ballytaggart Flock had outstanding success this year, not only did he scoop ten of the trophies which were presented at the dinner, he also produced the Champion at all eight agricultural shows which had classes for Dorset sheep!

To mark the N.I. Club’s 50th year the members chose to support the “Friends of Jessica” Charity which provides much needed funds for the Neo-natal unit at the Royal Victoria Hospital , both by purchasing life saving equipment and funding research. Two of the members of the N.I Dorset Sheep Breeders Club have personal reasons for nominating the charity as they have children who received wonderful care in the Royal Hospital ’s Neo-natal unit. It is hoped that the club will be able to present a cheque for around £2500 to the “Friends of Jessica” Charitable Trust, thanks to the generosity of members. This money was raised by a raffle, an auction at the dinner and the donation of the full selling price of a ewe lamb from the Ballytaggart flock at the Autumn Show and Sale .

The Club would like to thank P&O Ferries for donating a return trip for a car and passengers to Scotland as the First prize. Thanks are also due to Temple Golf and Country Club, Ross Park Hotel and Jacksons Butchers in Ballynure for raffle prizes. An auction was held at the dinner, George Robson, Club President, offered a ewe lamb and Graham Cubitt, William and Karen Carson, and Thomas Wright all donated semen from their stock rams.

A very enjoyable evening was had by all!

Prize winners for 2009

Chairman’s award –Sandy Wilson

S. Robinson Memorial Cup – Balmoral – T. Wright

Temple Golf Club Trophy – Show Flock – T. Wright

Trevilley cup – Champion Flock – T. Wright

Galgorm cup – Best Small Flock – G. Henderson

Fane Valley Cup – Best Stock Rams – T. Wright

Eden Cup – Best Ewe Lambs – T. Wright

McClellands Cup – Best New Entrant – A. McConnell

Wm Marshall Cup – Supreme Champion – T. Wright

D.H & P.D.S.B Cup – Reserve Champion – A. Fleming

Cooper Wellcome Cup – Opposite Sex to Champion – R. Currie

Springwell Trophy – Best pair of Ewe Lambs – R. Currie

Coleman Trophy – Best Shearling Ewe – G. Cubitt

Nutrivet Cup – Best pair of Ram Lambs – T. Wright

Downkillybegs Cup – Best Progeny Group – T. Wright

E. Matthews Cup – Most Show Points – T. Wright

Carnamrock Cup – Best Horn Exhibit – W&C Johnston

Kane and McPhearson Cup – Supreme Champion – T&S Knox

JE McFarlane Cup – Reserve Champion – T. Wright


Judges:- Mr. Andrew Palk & Mr. Mathew Care

SMALL FLOCK:- 1st G. Henderson, 2nd A. McConnell, 3rd S. Mullan, 4th L. Weir

LARGE FLOCK:- 1st T. Wright, 2nd W & C Johnston, 3rd G & M Cubitt, 4th S Caldwell.

Best EWE LAMBS:- 1st T. Wright, 2nd S. Mullan, 3rd G. Henderson.

Best Stock RAMS: -1st T. Wright, 2nd G. Henderson, 3rd S. Mullan.

BEST NEW ENTRANT: - Amy McConnell.

CHAMPION FLOCK:- T. Wright - Large (Ballytaggart)

RESERVE CHAMPION:- G. Henderson - Small Flock (Sandelford)