May Fair 2016

NI Dorset Breeders Enjoy Success at May Fair

Champion Ewe lamb T Wright Mayfair 2016
Thomas Wright with his Champion and Record Breaking Top Price Ewe Lamb
Best Signet Ram lamb W K Carson mayfair 2016
Karen Carson with the 1st Place Signet Ram Lamb
Best Pair S Mullan Mayfair 2016
Seamus Mullan's 1st Prize Pair of Ram Lambs
Progeny group T. Wright mayfair 2016
Thomas Wright's 1st Prize Progeny Group

Thirteen Northern Ireland Dorset Horn and Poll Dorset Breeders travelled across to the Annual Dorset Horn and Poll Dorset May sheep fair held in Exeter Livestock Centre, England on the 3rd and 4th of May 2016. The trip proved to be a prosperous one for all the breeders involved and the 48 high class rams they had brought over for the sale averaged £755.50, almost £100 higher in comparison to the sale average where a total of 137 rams sold on average for £660.04. Even of more considerable note was despite the fact that for the first time in five years the Supreme Champion entrant was not a Northern Ireland bred lamb both the Champion and Reserve Champion entries were in fact sired by Northern Irish bred rams, proving that the rams sold in recent times are not only achieving in the ring but also going onto improve the bloodlines in many flocks across the UK.

The Show and Sale Champion for 2016 was the group of three ram lambs bred by Francis Fooks, Dorset in his long established Poorton flock, which were all sired by Beechmount Tweedledum, bred by Amy McConnell, Ballyclare, who Francis purchased at the NI Dorset Clubs Premier Sale in July 2013. The Reserve Champion entrant was from the Huish Flock of David Rossiter, Devon. This superb ram lamb was sired by Downkillybegs Unique, bred
by W&K Carson, Ballymena and purchased by David at the 2014 May Fair for 4800gns. The reserve champion went on to fetch the sale topping price of 3000gns to purchasers J&J Dufosee. The second highest price in the sale was 2600gns for a ram sold by Adrian Duffosee’s Deverill flock, Wiltshire. This ram lamb was also bred by another NI bred ram Olivertree Uncle Ben which was sold in the 2014 May Fair from the Olivertree flock of Raymond and David Hill, Doagh. This ram made his way back to Northern Ireland to join the Downkillybegs flock of W&K Carson, Ballymena. 2200gns was the 3rd highest price of the sale and was achieved by a Sandleford Usain sired ram lamb from the Richhill flock of Ben Lamb, Richhill and was purchased by Thomas Wright, Ballymoney for his Ballytaggart flock. The 4th top price for a ram lamb of 1600gns was realised by W&K Carson for a Downkillybegs Whizz Kid sired lamb, with David Rossiter, Huish the successful purchaser.

A new breed record was set for a Dorset female, with the very impressive first prize ewe lamb sired by Ballytaggart Tonka and presented by Thomas Wright, Ballytaggart reached a fantastic 2000gns. The successful bidder was Andrew Kennedy, Maineview flock, Ballymena, this figure well exceeds the top price ewe lamb achieved by Tom Clarke in the 2015 Mayfair when the first prize ewe lamb achieved a figure of 1450gns to Samuel Caldwell and supports the trend for increasing popularity within the breed.

Overall the Northern Ireland breeders had considerable success in the show ring at the sale. The Ballytaggart flock of Thomas Wright not only won first prize ewe lamb, but also first place and champion pen of ewe lambs and first place progeny group with his Ballytaggart Tonka bred lambs. The Downkillybegs flock of W&K Carson won the signet recorded class and champion pen of rams, whilst the Islaharnan flock of Seamus Mullan, Armoy won the best pair of ram lambs.

NI Averages
B.Lamb, Richhill 7 Av £1107
W&K Carson, Downkillybegs 7 Av £1005
A&C .Kennedy, Maineview 2 Av £813
T.Wright, Ballytaggart 7 Av £801
S&S Lyons, Bencran 4 Av £758.62
J&C Robson, Ballyhamage 4 Av £735
T&S Knox, Riverview 4 Av £595.87
SP McCarry, Turnavedog 2 Av £593.25
S.Mullan, Islaharan 3 Av £455
G&G Henderson, Sandleford 3 Av £437.50
G.Cubitt, Kildowney 1 Av £420
C.Carson, Mainevalley 3 Av £413
S.Wilson, Legalog 1 Av £367.50

mayfair2016 Champion Female Pen
Thomas Wright's Champion Female Pen